
Birth Certificate Request 
Las Animas County Health Department 
412 Benedicta Ave.  
Trinidad, CO 81082 
www.la-h-health.colorado.gov
Phone: (719) 846-2213 
Fax: (719) 846-4472 

Huerfano County Health Department 
119 E. 5th Street 

Walsenburg, CO 81089 

Phone: (719) 738-2650 

Fax: (719) 738-2653 

Colorado has birth records for the entire state since 1910.  

 Requirements: Please check all that apply…

This request must be completed in full.

Enclose a copy of a current driver’s license, passport or State identification. (See reverse side for complete

list for primary and secondary ID’s) 

Enclose appropriate fees 

Person requesting to receive a birth certificate must sign below. 

Proof of Relationship is required. (Parents and Registrant excluded) 

Enclose a copy of the death certificate if the person is deceased. 

Requestor Information: 
Print name of person First Middle Last 

making request: 
Email: 

Mailing Address: Apt # City State Zip Daytime Phone 

( ) 

Physical Address: Apt # City State Zip Alt. Phone Number 
( ) 

Relationship to Registrant (person 

named on certificate) *see reverse side

 Self   Parent  Stepparent   Sibling    Child  Stepchild 

 Legal guardian 

 Spouse 
  Legal Representative   Other: _________________________________ 

Reason for Request:   Newborn   Travel/Passport   Records   School   Insurance   Other: 

Registrant Information:

Information about person whose birth certificate is being requested – Please type or Print 

***If Adopted, Please apply with the State of Colorado. *** 

Full Name at Birth 
First Middle Last 

Date of Birth 
Month Day Year Is this Person Deceased?   YES   NO 

If yes, must provide a copy of the death certificate 

Place of Birth 
City County 

COLORADO STATE ONLY 

Full Name of Father 

First Middle 

Last 

Full Name of Mother 

Prior to 1st marriage 
First Middle 

Maiden Last Name (prior to 1st marriage)

Pursuant to Colorado Revised Statutes, 1982, 25-2-118 and as defined by Colorado Board of Health Rules and Regulations, applicant must have a direct and tangible interest in 
the record requested. The penalties for obtaining a record under false pretenses include a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one 
year or both such fine and imprisonment (CRS 25-2-118)

By signing below, I have read and understand that there are penalties for obtaining a record under false pretenses. Today’s date 

Ways to Order: Charges: 

**Mail in application with check, money order, or credit card information. 

Make check or money order payable to Las Animas-Huerfano Counties Dist 

Health Dept. Please do not send cash. Certificate(s) mailed within one week.  

Apply in person or same day services:  Monday – Friday 8:00am – 4:00pm. 

**Credit Card Orders MAIL-IN REQUEST ONLY 

 Card Type: Visa MasterCard Discover 

Cardholder Name: 

American Express 

Card Number:  

Exp. Date: / 

Cost of certificates: 

$20.00 for one (or search when no record found) $ 
$13.00 for each additional certificate of the same

record ordered at the same time………………. $ 
 $ $1.00 credit card convenience charge.............................

Please check your shipping method: 

□ Regular Mail ($2.00) .................................................  $_______
□ or (Send self addressed stamped 8.5 X 11 envelope)

□ UPS – Overnight U.S. ($45.00).................................   $_______

□ FedEx 2Day – ($10.00)............................................    $_______

Total  .........................................................................     $_______ 



*Certified birth certificates may be issued to:

Please note that proof of relationship is required if your name is not listed on the birth certificate: (e.g. marriage certificates, birth certificates, 
court orders)

Legal guardian
Legal representatives of any of the above must present proof of client relationship 
For complete list visit: http://www.colorado.gov/cdphe/vitalrecords

The registrant (person named on the certificate) 
Parents
Current Spouse
Adult children
Stepparents
Siblings

• Alien Registration Receipt/Permanent
• Resident Card
• Certificate of U.S. Citizenship
• City of Denver County Jail Inmate ID
• Colorado Department of Corrections ID card
• CO Temporary Driver’s License (with hole-punched Driver’s

License)
• Department of Human Services Youth Corrections ID
• Employment Authorization Card (I-766)
• Foreign Passport
• Government Work ID
• Job Corps ID
• Photo Driver’s License
• Photo ID Card (DMV)
• School, University or College ID Card (must be current)
• Temporary Resident Card
• U.S. B1/B2 Visa card with I-94
• U.S. Certificate of Naturalization
• U.S. Citizenship ID Card (I-197)
• U.S. Military ID Card
• U.S. Passport

• Matricula Consular Card
• Novelty ID Card
• Non-expiring ID cards (unless issued within last 5 years)
• City or County Prison/Jail ID
• Souvenir/Hospital birth certificates
• Temporary Driver’s Licenses or Temporary State ID Card
• Medicaid Card

• Acknowledgment of Paternity document (Colorado only)
• Birth Certificate of Applicant (U.S. only)
• Court order of adoption or name change
• Craft or trade license (Colorado only)
• DD-214
• Divorce Decree (U.S. only)
• Hospital birth worksheet (ID for mothers- within 6 months of

event)
• Hunting or Fishing License (must be current-Colorado only)
• IRS-TIN card
• Marriage license (U.S. only)
• Medicare Card
• Merchant mariner card
• Mexican voter registration card
• Motor vehicle registration or title (must be current -U.S. only)
• Pilot license
• Selective Service Card (U.S. only)
• Social Security Card
•
•

State or Federal Prison or Corrections Card

•
Tribal ID Card

•
Weapon or gun permit (U.S. only)

•
Work ID, Paycheck Stub (within 3 months), or W-2 (last tax year)

•

Any Expired document from the “Primary” List (cannot be expired
more than 6 months)

‘Primary’ List

At least 1 of the following:
(No expired documents accepted)

We are sorry, but we cannot accept:

Or at least 2 of the following:
(Any document expired more than six months will not be accepted)

The Office of the State Registrar ov Vital Statistics requires the following documentation:

‘Secondary’ List:

If you cannot provide acceptable identification, it is suggested that you ask a spouse, parent, grandparent, sibling, or 
adult child, who can provide appropriate identification, to request the certificate.  Proof of relationship is required, 
such as a birth certificate or marriage certificate.




