@

Las Animas Huerfano Counties

Application for Certified Death Certificate

Apply in person for same-day
services Walk-in Hours: Monday-
Friday 8:30-4:30

STEP 1: DECEASED INFORMATION

Full Name of deceased

first name

| middle name

last name suffix

Date of Death or range of dates (vni/oD/yvvyy)

| Date of Birth or age at death (optional) , State of Birth (optional)

Place of Death city

State

Colorado Only

County

Pursuant to Colorado Revised Statutes, 1982, 25-2-118 and as defined by Colorado Board of Health Rules and Regulations, applicant must have a direct
and tangible interest in the record requested. The penalties for obtaining a record under false pretenses include a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or
imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one year or both such fine and imprisonment (CRS 25-2-118).

Signature:

By signing below, | have read and understand that there are penalties for obtaining a record under false pretenses.

Today’s Date:

STEP 2: REQUESTOR INFORMATION

Your Full Name (Applicant) first name

middle name

last name suffix

non-refundable

B: Credit Card Convenience Charge
non-refundable

TOTAL B =$1.00

Mailing Address City State Zip Code Daytime Phone Number
Physical Address City State Zip Code Alternate Phone Number
Relationship to Deceased (Must submit proof of relationship — see reverse side) Email Address
Reason for request (i.e.: Insurance, Social Security, Property, Genealogy, etc.)
[ cost
A: Certificate Costs TOTAL A=$ C: Delivery Method * (You MUST select one) TOTALC=$_____ *
Type*: o Standard o Legal o Verification of Death o UPS NextDay Air......... (at cost) ~$50.00 o U.S. Postal Service 15t Class Mail....... $2.00
O Certified copy (15t copy) .... $20.00 O FedEX 2Day..c.ooueceeeceeeeeeeeeeeeeenaens $10.00 O InPerson Pick-up...............oooeuei. $0.00
Additional copies.........ccoeu..... $13.00 ea.

UPS/FedEx will not deliver to a P.O. Box. Processing times may vary

* If submitting multiple applications at one time, all with the same delivery address, only include payment
for one (1) Delivery Method, not one for each application.

TOTAL AMOUNT DUE (A+B+C) = $

PAYMENT INFORMATION

| *Certificate types:

Select Payment Method: DO NOT SEND CASH

o Credit Card V54 PSSR Credit Card #

Submit separate payment for each application

Standard: Entire record
Legal: all legal information with no medical
Verification of Death: limited legal and no medical

Exp. Date

Cardholder Signature

o Personal or Business Check (payable to: Las Animas County Health Dept.)

MAIL, FAX or SECURE EMAIL YOUR SIGNED AND COMPLETED FORM |

Vitals Office Use Only:

Please submit your completed form, along with ID and additional documentation (if required) to:
Las Animas Huerfano Counties District Health Department, ATTN: Vital Records,

Las Animas County: 412 Benedicta Ave, Trinidad, CO 81082
Huerfano County: 119 E. 5th Street, Walsenburg, CO 81089

Fax: 719-846-4471

For more information visit our website at: https://la-h-health.colorado.gov/

Date Processed:

State File #

Receipt #

Email: dmartinez@Ia-h-health.org Certificate(s) #
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https://la-h-health.colorado.gov/services/vital-statistics

@

Las Animas Huerfano Counties

Application for Certified Death Certificate

Please follow the instructions below when submitting your application:

e Request must be completed in full

e Enclose appropriate fees

e Enclose copy of a current driver’s license, passport or state ID. The complete list e Person requesting death certificate must sign on following page

of primary/secondary IDs is available at: www.colorado.gov/cdphe

e Proof of relationship or legal interest is required (see below)

Death certificates may be issued to:

Document(s) needed to prove relationship:

Current spouse

Must be listed on death certificate.

Ex-spouse Must present proof of direct & tangible interest (i.e. Social Security record,
insurance policy).

Parent Must be listed on death certificate.

Stepparent Marriage certificate proving relationship to a parent that is listed on
deathcertificate.

Siblings/Half siblings Birth certificate showing at least one same parent required (cannot accept
baptismals, hospital records or school records, unless the customer presents
a letter from the state of birth stating no record of birth was found).

Children Birth certificate(s) showing relationship is required (cannot accept baptismals,

hospital records or school records, unless the customer presents a letter from
the state of birth stating no record of birth was found).

Step-Children

Marriage certificate & birth certificate proving relationship required.

Legal representative/Paralegals

Proof of client relationship required as well as proof of the client’s
Relationship to the registrant.

Opposing counsel

Certificate will be mailed to court w/ motion to seal “confidential record.”
Name, address and case number of the court required.

Genealogists

Notarized signed release from immediate family member required as
well as proof of the family member’s relationship. Certificate marked
“For Genealogical Use Only.”

Grandparents/Grandchildren
In-laws/Aunts/Uncles/Nephews/Nieces/Cousins
Extended Family Members

For death certificate 25 years or younger- Must present proof of direct &
tangible interest (i.e. insurance policy, personal will, etc.).

For death certificates over 25 years- Must present proof of relationship (a
family tree would be acceptable for this case) Death certificate marked
“For Genealogical Use Only.”

Probate Researchers

Proof of direct & tangible interest required.

Creditors

Proof of direct & tangible interest required.

Employer

Proof of direct & tangible interest required.

Beneficiaries

Proof of direct & tangible interest required (i.e. letter on insurance
company/pension company letterhead that clearly states the applicant is a
beneficiary or is eligible to file a claim).

Insurance companies

Proof of direct & tangible interest required (Insurance policy).

Hospital/Nursing home/Hospice/Physician

Proof of patient relationship required.

Funeral Directors

Must be listed on death certificate.

Informant

Must be listed on death certificate.

Others who may demonstrate a direct and tangible
interest when information is needed for determination

or protection of a personal or property right

Proof of direct & tangible interest required.

Attorney-in-fact/Agent (Power of Attorney)

Must present a Durable Power of Attorney that has been signed by the

“principal” (person they are representing) and notarized. Durable Power of
Attorneys are indefinite unless specified in the document or upon death. We
do not accept Medical Power of Attorney. Review the Power of Attorney
carefully, since some provide a limited amount of authority to the “attorney-
in-fact”/” agent”.

Consular Corps/Consulate offices

Must present credentials verifying their connection to the Consulate

REV. 01/2025


http://www.colorado.gov/cdphe

	Application for Certified Death Certificate
	STEP 1: DECEASED INFORMATION
	STEP 2: REQUESTOR INFORMATION
	COST
	PAYMENT INFORMATION
	MAIL, FAX or SECURE EMAIL YOUR SIGNED AND COMPLETED FORM
	Application for Certified Death Certificate


	Mailing Address: 
	City: 
	State: 
	Zip Code: 
	Daytime Phone Number: 
	Physical Address: 
	City_2: 
	State_2: 
	Zip Code_2: 
	Alternate Phone Number: 
	Relationship to Deceased Must submit proof of relationship  see reverse side: 
	Email Address: 
	Reason for request ie Insurance Social Security Property Genealogy etc: 
	TOTAL A: 
	TOTAL C: 
	Standard: Off
	Legal: Off
	Verification of Death: Off
	UPS NextDay Air: Off
	FedEx 2Day: Off
	US Postal Service 1st Class Mail: Off
	In Person Pickup: Off
	Certified copy 1st copy: Off
	TOTAL AMOUNT DUE ABC: 
	Credit Card: Off
	Exp Date: 
	Personal or Business Check payable to Las Animas County Health Dept: Off
	Last Name: 
	Middle Name: 
	Date of Death: 
	Date of Birth: 
	State of Birth: 
	First Name: 
	Place of Death: 
	County: 
	First Name Applicant: 
	Middle name Applicant: 
	Last Name Applicant: 
	Additional copies: 
	Credit Card Number: 
	suffix: 
	suffix 2: 


