Retail Food Establishments

Our department inspects restaurants, grocery stores, convenience stores, mobile food carts and trucks, and temporary event booths.

To Open a Restaurant/Grocery

A restaurant/grocery plan review is required to be submitted along with a $100 fee.

To Open a Mobile Unit

mobile unit plan review is required to be submitted with a $100 fee.

Temporary Events/Festivals

If you are organizing a special event or festival,

The Application Deadline is 2 Weeks Prior to the Event - No Exceptions

Food Handler Training

Sign up for Certified Food Protection Manager Training! Once you sign up for your course, you’ll be directed to schedule a session with LAHCDHD staff.

Colorado Retail Food Establishment Inspection Results

Restaurant Inspection Information

FDA: Food and Water Safety During Power Outages and Floods

Emergencies, particularly during extreme weather conditions, are not uncommon. The best strategy is to have a plan in place beforehand. This includes knowing the proper food safety precautions to take before, during, and after a power outage, and being prepared to handle food and water safely in the event of flooding. Learn more from the FDA article.


Colorado Retail Food Establishment Rules & Regulations
Guidance Documents for Retail Food Establishments
Cottage Foods Act
Packaged Food Labeling Requirements